The core business of IONE includes education and professional development

Scholarship Overview

The core business of the Indiana Organization of Nurse Executives (IONE) is education, career development, member engagement, thought leadership, public policy and advocacy.  In support of the IONE mission to shape health care through expert nursing leadership the scholarship fund was established and funded with IONE nursing license plate funds.

This Scholarship Awards Procedure has been developed to define the process utilized to select and award educational scholarships to registered nurses in nursing leadership positions. (Charge, Nurse, Practice Facilitators, House Supervisors, etc)


General Requirements

  1. Licensed in the state of Indiana
  2. Is a resident of Indiana
  3. Enrolled and/or currently taking classes from a nationally accredited school of nursing based in Indiana.
  4. Currently employed in Indiana in a nursing leadership or management position or employment history focused toward a leadership in nursing for a minimum of one (1) year (e.g. charge RN, clinical managers, supervisors, etc).
  5. RN in good standing with Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.
  6. Scholarships are limited to a one time award per student, per degree.


  1. Bachelor’s degree in nursing.
  2. Maintains a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale in the program
  3. Currently employed in Indiana in a nursing leadership or management position or employment history focused toward leadership in nursing.
  4. Demonstrated leadership skills/abilities.
  5. Current membership in a professional organization(s).
  6. Anticipated date of graduation must be included in resume. The candidate must show progression toward graduation yet will not graduate prior to the award of the scholarship.  Scholarship monies are awarded in late October – early November.



  1. Mail letters to school deans requesting scholarship nomination submissions for MSN, DNP and PHD by June 15th
  2. Email requests for RN-BSN completion scholarship nominations to the CNO’s of Indiana by June 15th

June 25

  1. Compile nominee voting spreadsheet for distribution to committee members along with scanned copies of all scholarship submission packets.
  2. Schedule 2-3 hr. teleconference with committee members to review all scholarship applications.
  3. Prepare end of year report for August Board meeting along with final slate of scholarship candidates


Present final slate of candidates to Board along with end of year report.

Late August

  1. Send congratulation letters to all scholarship recipients inviting them to October Past President & Scholarship luncheon at the fall conference.
  2. Complete check requests and scan to IONE Executive Director and cc: IHA support staff requesting all checks be returned to Scholarship Chairman for distribution at the fall conference.


Prepares letters or certificates to hand to recipients at fall conference.

Scholarship Winners

BSN Scholarship Recipients

Stephanie Schneider
Tara White
Teresa Hutton
Sheila Lowe
Cindy Moreland
Rebecca Ward
Renea Smith
Sheila Keener
Stephani Schultz
Kristen Smiertelny
Donna Sauley
Lori Pipes

MSN Scholarships

Audra Pierce
Alma Ahmetovic
Victoria Andrews
Amy Selby
Tuesday Majors
Katherine Harkov
Ashley Herr
Amy Murray
Kellie Swartz

DNP Scholarships

Leann Mayer
Lori Magee
Wilma Carrier
Jason King
Erin LaCross
Cynthia Harrington